The Future of WFH is WFA

From healthy happy homeworking to freelancing freedom

It's been a while, since the last 'Happy Healthy Homeworking' newsletter hit your inbox. A transformative period for me, and for the world in general. But here I am, back again, in your email - with a new delivery platform, and a slightly different direction.

I hope it's a direction you are happy to head in alongside me, as we explore the future of work in all its more flexible forms, especially freelancing and working independently. But if you were only here for the WFH stuff, then don't worry, I get it, and that's totally fine - please just hit that 'unsubscribe' button, and you won't hear from me again!

My emphasis has shifted, because the world has shifted.

Through the pandemic era, helping people work happily and successfully from home, was my greatest priority. So many people were struggling with this, and I knew I had the experience and the tools to support them - so 'healthy happy homeworking' was born.

Healthy Happy Homeworking in 2022?

Today, the world is unlocking, and so are people's minds.

Whether the enforced WFH lockdown helped you realise you never wanted to do so again in your life, or that you never wanted to back to the office, chances are it made its mark on you too. This year has brought particular changes for me, including my own experiences with COVID, a major bereavement, and an exciting new professional project...

The only certainty has been continual change.

Maybe you're reconsidering your long-term goals and career aspirations, renegotiating an expected professional trajectory, or re-thinking what you want your own 'new normal' to look like - so perhaps we can try and figure that out together? It doesn't matter whether you regard yourself as a 'freelancer', because one of the most exciting things about the future-now is the way definitions are blending and evolving. Entrepreneurs, employees, directors, contractors, consultants, downshifters and third-agers... Everyone is welcome at this camp

I am still working mostly from home, and very happy with that choice!

Yes, I am still doing one-to-one remote/freelance career coaching,

Yes, there WILL be another 'Healthy Happy Homeworking' book, eventually! Probably on hybrid working - but the reality of this is shifting so fast, that I think sharing thoughts and ideas in a newsletter might be more helpful.

I also want to share what I am writing, and recording - as a major preoccupation of recent months has been hosting and producing the "Future is Freelance" podcast, which explores all kinds of themes relating to business and flexibility and creating a career on your own terms.

The future is freelance podcast logo

It also means I get to talk to some incredibly interesting people, who are doing fascinating things, at the intersection of work and technology and creativity... Which is the kind of thing I really want to share with you.

Does that sound okay?

If so, I hope you'll come along for the ride, and be open to receiving a regular-ish email, on 'Freelance Friday' 😎

But if you were only here for the HHHomeworking, then please use that unsubscribe link below, and we will part as friends and both move on with our lives 😉

With very best wishes,

Maya Middlemiss

(Healthy Happy Homeworker, Future-is-Freelancer, and wearer of many interrelated hats)